



AS/Soc/Prize (2015) 05 rev4 18 June 2015 Asocdocprize05rev4_2015

http://assembly.coe.i

Committee on Social Affairs, Health and Sustainable Development

Sub-Committee on the Europe Prize

Programme

Celebrations of the 60th anniversary of the Europe Prize

Monday, 22 June 2015

in Strasbourg (France), Palais de l'Europe, Council of Europe

Programme

- 10.30 am Arrival and registration of participants
- **11.10 am Opening of the exhibition dedicated to the 60th anniversary of the Europe Prize** (Assembly lobby)

Opening and presentation by Ms Anne Brasseur, President of the Parliamentary Assembly

- 11.30 am Viewing of the film on the Council of Europe and listening to the debates in the Assembly Chamber
- **1 pm Buffet/reception for all the participants** (Ante-Room of the Committee of Ministers)
- **2 pm Debate on "Living together in multicultural societies: respect, dialogue, interaction**" chaired by Mr Valeriu Ghiletchi, Chairperson of the Committee on Social Affairs, Health and Sustainable Development (Room 1)¹

Introduction by:

- Mr Dirk Hilbert, acting Mayor of Dresden (Germany)
- Mr Fredrik Nelander, Mayor of Vara (Sweden)
- and Mr Nils Muižnieks, Commissioner for Human Rights of the Council of Europe

Discussion moderated by Ms Rene Wyndham (Journalist, United Kingdom)

¹The meeting is open to all.

Simultaneous interpretation will be provided in English, French, German, Italian and Russian.

- **3 pm Official ceremony for the 60th anniversary of the Europe Prize** (Assembly Chamber)
- **3.05 pm** Opening and speech by Ms Anne Brasseur, President of the Parliamentary Assembly
- **3.10 pm** Speech by Mr Jean-Claude Frécon, President of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities
- **3.15 pm** Video speech by Councillor Michael Hammon, Lord Mayor of Coventry
- **3.20 pm** Symbolic award of the Europe Prize to the Mayors of the 2015 winning towns, Dresden (Germany) and Vara (Sweden) by Mr Axel E. Fischer, Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on the Europe Prize

- **3.25 pm** European Anthem
- **3.30 pm** End of the Ceremony

4 pm Award ceremony for the European diplomas (Room 5)²

- 4.45 pm End of the meeting
- 8.30 pm Reception at the City Hall in Strasbourg

Contacts at the Committee Secretariat / Parliamentary Assembly

Ms Tanja KLEINSORGE

Head of the Secretariat of the Committee **1**: +33 (0)3 88 41 29 06 E-mail: tanja.kleinsorge@coe.int

Ms Aiste RAMANAUSKAITE

Secretary of the Committee **1**: +33 (0)3 88 41 31 17 E-mail: aiste.ramanauskaite@coe.int

Ms Prisca BARTHEL

Responsible for the Europe Prize Section **2**: +33 (0)3 90 21 51 18 E-mail: prisca.barthel@coe.int

Ms Sylvie ELTER Assistant ■: +33 (0)3 88 41 21 08 E-mail: sylvie.elter@coe.int

² The meeting is open to all. Simultaneous interpretation will be provided in English, French, German, Italian and Russian.