Working structure


Working structure

The Assembly may, on the proposal of the Bureau, grant Observer status to national parliaments of non-member states of the Council of Europe which meet the conditions set out in paragraph 1 of Statutory Resolution (93) 26 of the Committee of Ministers on Observer status.

The Assembly shall specify the number of members of Observer delegations (at the moment the parliaments of Canada, Israel, Mexico). The parliaments concerned are not required to submit credentials to the President of the Assembly but, in appointing their delegations, they should reflect the various currents of opinion within their parliaments

Members of such delegations may sit in the Assembly but without the right to vote. They shall have the right to speak with the authorisation of the President of the Assembly.

They may attend committee meetings as provided in Rule 48.5.

(Source: rule 61 of the Rules of Procedure of the Assembly)